There are many things that can be done to your car in order to make it more efficient and safer, but one of the most important is window tinting. Window tinting not only helps protect you from harmful UV rays but also makes driving easier on your eyes during sunny days. The laws for how dark window tint can be vary depending on where you live, so we’ve rounded up all the information you need below!
The law in South Carolina states that any windshield or window tint can not be darker than 70% light transmittance. This percentage is the amount of light that allows through your window, so it’s important to keep in mind what this means for you. This means that the light must be able to get through at least 30% of the window surface area, and it cannot exceed 70%.
However, if your windows are darker than this percentage, then there can be some repercussions. For example, if your windows are tinted at 60% and you’re pulled over for a routine traffic stop, then you may end up with a ticket because the law limits the amount of tint to 70%. So, if your windows are darker than 70%, we recommend that you get them fixed or removed before you are pulled over during a routine traffic stop.
The rear windows may use a tint no darker than 15%, and side windows may not have any tinting applied to them at all. The window tint must also be clearly marked with the name or trademark of the business that applied the film, along with the percentage of light transmittance. In South Carolina, you can have a window film that blocks out 10% of light or less on the front side of the driver’s door.
Public vehicles in South Carolina are allowed to have tinted windows, but only if the vehicle has side and rear windows that block out 35% of light or less. The legal dark window tint percentage for passenger vehicles in South Carolina is 70%. For commercial vehicles, the limit is 35%. You do not need a permit to have your windows tinted, but you will likely be denied the service if you fail to provide proper identification because your state requires anyone who gets their car tinted to be at least 18 years old and
Vehicles that are not allowed to have tinted windows in South Carolina include:
• Any motorcycles without fairings.
• Any motor vehicle with a title of Salvage or Junk.
If you don’t adhere to these guidelines, then you could end up paying a fine for your windows. Depending on how dark your window tint is, you could pay between $200 and $1,000. If you have illegal window tinting, then not only is there a chance that you could have to pay a fine but your car could also get towed if you are stopped for another reason. In order to avoid all of these negative effects, make sure you check your local laws before having any windows tinted.